ProBUZZ‎ > ‎September '10‎ > ‎

Page 2

Who Am I?





Ross Scheifley



History tells us that the baby boom was from 1947 to 1964.  I was part of “the boom” as I was born in 1947 at St. Mary’s Hospital in Kitchener.  My brother, Tom, followed in 1950.

We lived in Kitchener near the intersection of Krug St. and East Ave.  My father was an accountant who worked at J.M. Schneiders for 39 years and my mother was a stay at home mom.  I attended. St. Anne’s school for 8 years.  My favourite subject was recess and my favourite part of the school year was summer when there was no school.  Back then the highlight of the year was the 2 weeks that we spent at Sable Beach.


I then attended St. Jerome’s High School for 5 years graduating in 1966.  Sports were a big part of my life back then.  I played basketball, football and track and field.  It was on the track, running the special events (100 yds, 220 yds, relay) where I had some success.  In grades 10, 11, 12, & 13 I represented Waterloo County at the All Ontario Finals.  At this point I quickly learned that no matter how fast I ran there was always someone faster.

Following this I was off to the University of Waterloo for 4 years.  I was in the Arts programme majoring in English.  Again I was on the track team for a further 2 years.

1970 proved to be an important year as I graduated from university and met my wife, Dawn, who was working as a teacher for the Waterloo County Board of Education.

Having finished my University education it was time to decide what to do with my life.  As there were several relatives who were accountants, my father persuaded me to be a lawyer.  Thus in September 1970, I was enrolled in first year law at the University of Windsor.  I quickly learned that the study of law was not for me.  I finished that year and was reconsidering my options.

 At this point I decided to become an accountant.  Not having my business courses I enrolled at Wilfred Laurier University in 1972 and was hired by Clarkson Gordon & Co. (now Ernst & Young) in 1973.  I then received my Chartered account designation in 1976.

 

My working life was as follows:

Kraus Carpets -1976 - 1978 - Assistant Controller

ITT Industries (Toronto) 1978 -1981 Internal Auditor

Fibreglass Canada (Toronto) 1981-1991 - Internal Audit Manager - Corporate Secretary

Canada Revenue Agency 1991-2007- Tax  Complaince Officer

The work was interesting and challenging at times while complex and demanding at other times.  I retired in 2007.

On a personal note I have been married to Dawn since 1974.  She recently completed more than 35 years with the local school board as teacher, vice principal and principal.  We have two daughters: Erin is married  & is a teacher in Savannah, Georgia; Michelle is a paramedic with Waterloo region

People ask me after my retirement in 2007, what I do all day.  I reply that I am paid to do nothing and that is what I do.  However, this isn’t exactly true.  Always healthy I am at the Good Life Fitness Club 3 or 4 times weekly.  My wife and I have played tennis since 1970 and we continue to play although more doubles than singles is now the norm.  We continue to travel on a regular basis having been to most major areas other than India and China.  Several years ago my wife and I spent a week in Tuscany with fellow Probians John Rule, Swain Van Camp, Bryce Walker and their spouses.  In June of this year we were in Paris and were able to watch the French Open.  We saw the Women’s tennis final and the men’s double.

That’s it for now.  I can give you an update in 10 or 15 years.


Back to Page 1

Go to Page 3

Subpages (1): Page 3
Comments